Parks and Recreation Department (217) 345-6897

We are a department of the City of Charleston.  We are not a Park District.  Our finances are based on the City Tax Levy, though many revenues are generated through program fees. We are nonprofit and are governed by the City Council.  The Parks and Recreation Advisory Board consists of 5 appointed members.  Board meetings are usually the third Monday of the month at 3:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers on the second floor of City Hall (dates and times are subject to change). 

City residents are encouraged to attend and make suggestions or comments to improve programs, services, or facilities.  Search for Meeting dates/times in the Times-Courier.  For more information, call 345-6897.

Our office hours are Monday - Friday from 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

For outdoor cancellations due to weather, call the Rainout Hotline at 217-348-8555.

Parks and Recreation Department Staff:

  • Director of Parks and Recreation: Brian Jones (CPRP)
  • Recreation Supervisor: Hannah Cole
  • Athletic Supervisor: Dirk Bennett
  • Tourism & Special Events: Diane Ratliff (CFEA, CPRP, CTRS)
  • Business Manager: Kandy Sager
  • Superintendent of Parks and Facilities Maintenance: C.J. Applegate (CPRP)
  • Parks and Facilities Maintenance: Jason Walters
  • Parks and Facilities Maintenance: Dustin King
  • Parks and Facilities Maintenance: Frank Pearcy



520 Jackson Avenue, Charleston, IL 61920 ~ Phone 217-345-5650 ~ TTY 217-345-7517 ~ Fax 217-345-7554 ~